Lansingbourgh May 22nd 1775
A general association agreed to and subscribed by the Freemen, Freeholders and Inhabitants of the town of Lansingburgh and Patent of Stone Arabia.
Persuaded that the salvation of the rights and liberties of America depends, under God, on the firm union of its inhabitants in a vigorous prosecution of the measures necessary for its safety; and convinced of the necessity of preventing the anarchy and confusion which attend a dissolution of the powers of government, we, the Freemen, Freeholders and Inhabitants of the town of Lansingburgh and Patent of Stone Arabia: Being greatly alarmed at the avowed design of the British ministry to raise a revenue in America, and shocked by the bloody scenes now acting in Massachusetts Bay government, in the most solemn manner resolve never to become slaves, and do associate ourselves, under all the ties of religion, honor and love to our country, to adopt and endeavor to carry into execution whatever measures may be recommended by the Continental Congress or resolved by our Provisional Convention for the purpose of preserving our Constitution and opposing the execution of the several arbitrary and oppressive acts of the British Parliament, until a reconciliation between Great Britain and America on Constitutional principles can be obtained, than which we wish for nothing more ardently; and we do hereby covenant, promise and agree that we will in all things follow the advice of our general committee respecting the purpose aforesaid, the preservation of peace, good order and safety of the individuals and private property.

Abraham Jacob Lansingh [Penuel?] Brown
Christopher Tillman Frederick Weaver
John D. Wynkoop Levinus Lansingh
Abraham Ten Eyck William [Thomkins?]
Benjamin French Joseph Bacon
John Barber John Dunbarr
James Selkirk Pelletiah Winchill
Daniel Toncray John Young
Jonathan Severs Levinus Leversee
Henry Pollock Gershom French
Michael Houswort Joseph Jones
John Fine John Skiffington
Stephen Marvin Thomas Cook
James Boggs William Nicholls
Abram Ouderkerk Alexander Boyd
Ephraim Griswould John Winn
Samuel Higgins Josiah Rose
James Willson Daniel Shaw
Justus Brown Aaron Ward
John Clark William Conklin
David Layten Edward Bruster [Brewster]
Francis Hogle Samuel Bruster [Brewster]
John Sloan Jacob A. Lansing
Georg Lane
Samuel Burns
Isaac van Arnum
Robert Wendell

A true copy of the original association paper drawed this 15th of June 1775
Christopher Tillman Town Clerk

Lansingburgh’s Declaration of Independence, as it’s been described, was not the first in the state or country – though it was certainly an early one. Such a declaration had been signed in New York City on April 29, 1775 and distributed to other counties for them to sign as well.

Buell, Bill. “Coxsackie to celebrate ‘earlier’ declaration of independence.” Daily Gazette. May 17, 2015.

Greenberg, David. “America’s 100 Other Declarations of Independence.” July 4, 2017.